You are here: HomeNews, Media & EventsNewsroomLatest NewsLDC Alumni Association elects leaders

LDC Alumni Association elects leaders

Law Development Centre Law Development Centre

The Law Development Centre Alumni Association has elected its first executive committee to take over leadership from the task force team which has spear-headed the creation and establishment of the association. The association is an umbrella body of all old students of the Law Development Centre.

At its annual general meeting held at the weekend, members elected Lawyer John Marry Mugisha the chairman. He takes over the mantle from Justice David Wangutusi of the High Court who has headed the LDC alumni task force since early last year. The task force was named by LDC Director, Frank Nigel Othembi in his efforts to revamp the Centre.

The Annual General Meeting was attended by the Prince Judge, Justice Yorakam Bamwine, Supreme Court Judge Stella Arach (who is the Chairperson LDC management committee), Chief Registrar Paul Gadenya, former Attorney General Prof. Kiddu Makubuya and many lawyers.

Addressing members, Justice Arach urged all lawyers to embrace and take part in activities of the association whose aim is to support the Centre in its noble duty of imparting legal education to Ugandans. She expressed appreciation to Mr. Othembi for initiating establishment of the association. She said mobilizing all alumni under an umbrella association represents a tremendous force that can be harnessed for the growth and development of LDC.

Justice Bamwine pledged total support to the association; saying it is an avenue to support LDC in its efforts to address challenges of reaching out to all those in need of legal education. He invited lawyers to support LDC through the association.

JMM Mugisha pledged to work hard to ensure that the aims and objectives of the association are attained. He expressed appreciation to Justice Wangutusi for his effort to put in place an organization that brings together all former students of the Centre. Mugisha’s team includes Proscovia Nakawungu (treasurer), Bakunzi Didas Mufasha (publicity secretary), Dr. Moreen Owor (diaspora secretary) and Prof. Kiddu Makubuya.


By This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">Bakunzi Didas Mufasha – Publicity secretary LDC Alumni Association | Published: September 8, 2014