You are here: HomeAbout JLOSManagement StructuresSteering Committee

Steering Committee


The Steering Committee is the body responsible for policy formulation, coordination; fundraising, external accountability and quality assurance of JLOS results to the people of Uganda. It shall consist of the following:

  • Solicitor General (Chairperson)
  • Chief Registrar (Alternate Chair)
  • Deputy Director of Public Prosecution (Management Support Services)
  • Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Internal Affairs
  • Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Local Government
  • Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development
  • Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development
  • President, Uganda Law Society
  • Secretary to the Judiciary
  • Secretary, Uganda Law Reform Commission
  • Secretary, Uganda Human Rights Commission
  • Secretary, Judicial Service Commission 
  • President, Uganda Law Society
  • Inspector-General of Police
  • Commissioner General of Prisons
  • Chairperson CADER Governing Council 
  • Chairperson Tax Appeals Tribunal '
  • Chairperson URSB
  • Chairperson Citizenship and Immigration 
  • Chair of the Board-Amnesty Commission 
  • Chairperson, JLOS Technical Committee (Ex officio) 
  • Senior Technical Advisor (Ex Officio)

The Steering Committee may co-opt any institution(s); individuals; Development Partners or Non State Actors as deemed necessary to their meetings. The Steering Committee will determine its rules of procedure. The Steering Committee meets a minimum of four times a year.

SIP III Focus Areas