You are here: HomeServices & InformationPress and MediaLatest NewsAbout JLOS2018 JLOS Recognition Awards: Call for Nominations

2018 JLOS Recognition Awards: Call for Nominations

2018 JLOS Recognition Awards: Call for Nominations 2018 JLOS Recognition Awards: Call for Nominations




The Justice, Law and Order Sector (JLOS) will on October 4, 2018 hold its 2017/2018 edition of the JLOS Recognition Awards Ceremony on the sidelines of the 23rd Annual Government of Uganda and Development Partners Sector Review. The Annual JLOS Recognition Awards are a highly visible component of the Sector’s goal of setting standards of excellence in the administration of Justice and the rule of law by honoring and recognizing the efforts and achievements of individuals and institutions.  The JLOS Recognition Awards are designed for recognition of individuals and institutions that have demonstrated exceptional good performance in the administration of justice and the rule in the period between July 2017 and June 2018.  



The 2017/2018 JLOS Recognition awards are open to all JLOS institutions, officials within JLOS member institutions and partners of the sector in the civil service (MDAs and LGs), civil society, academia, private sector, the general public and the media.


Call for nominations

Nominations are hereby requested for deserving institutions or persons in the awards categories described below. To nominate an institution or individual for a given award, send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and state the individual or institution / agency / organization you are nominating in a particular category and briefly state reason(s) (for the nomination) in not more 100 words. For more information, call +256 772 741057. 


• The 2017/2018 JLOS Recognition awards specifically focus on milestones, achievements and performance in the period between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018.

• Deadline for receiving nominations: 21st  September 2018 



1. Excellence Award

This award recognizes high quality and excellent work with significant importance or impact to the Justice, Law and Order Sector, or the consistency of high quality work performed over the period 2017/18.  This award recognizes efforts by institutions and individuals to do excellent work while maintaining efficiency and in meeting and achieving sector goals and objectives.

Award recipient: Institution / Individual


2. Innovation Award

For institutions, organizations or persons that value creativity, this category is designed to reward institutions and individuals who have provided a new idea to improve work practices, efficiency, quality of services, or advance the goals and mission of the Justice, Law and Order Sector.  

To qualify for this award, the innovative idea presented must have been adopted and implemented by a given JLOS institution with proven value added in the administration of justice and the rule of law.   

Award recipient: Institution / Individual


3. Customer Service Award

This award is designed to recognize service that consistently goes above and beyond to meet the needs and expectations of customers/clients in the Justice, Law and Order Sector.  

This award recognizes the ability of JLOS institutions to provide the best services to the public; providing excellent knowledge and information to the public about the institution/department; and commitment to working expeditiously to resolve customer complaints/situations creatively.

Award recipient: Institution


4. Human Rights Defender Award

This category is designed to award persons that have exemplified excellence in championing the cause of the vulnerable and disadvantaged in society.  This award seeks to recognize efforts of individuals who selflessly reach out to advocate for the needs of marginalized or vulnerable groups through provision of legal aid, financial aid or publicity. 

Award recipient: Individual 


5. Milestone Achievement Award

This award is for recognizing individuals or teams within JLOS institutions that have met a specific and measurable goal that is above and beyond what may be in a performance plan or is typically expected in a given financial year. 

This category is also designed to recognize an individual or team that breaks a standing institutional record that relates to the institution’s mission.  The record should be clearly defined.  

 Award recipient: Institution / Institution


6. Public Affairs and Media Relations Award

This category is designed to recognize JLOS institutions / officials in the sector that excel in matters of public and media relations through implementation of effective publicity strategies and programs. This award is given to institutions or individuals within the Sector institutions that have successfully and positively changed public opinion and perceptions through media campaigns and citizen engagement using various media platforms.

Award recipient: Institution / Individual 


7. Media Reporting Award

This award recognizes individuals in the media fraternity who have developed programs or content that have marketed and considerably improved the profile of a JLOS member institution, or a sector program/initiative on a given media platform (print, online or electronic).

Award recipient: Individual 


8. Partnership and Collaboration Award

This award recognizes an entity or organization (government and non-government) outside the Justice, Law and Order Sector that has demonstrated outstanding partnership, cooperation and collaboration with a JLOS institution or the sector as a whole in the implementation of activities or programs that greatly contribute to the administration of justice and the rule of law. 

Award recipient:  Institution


9. DCC of the Year Award

Recognizing the core importance and role of the District Chain Linked Committees (DCCs) in the administration of justice and the rule of law, this award specifically seeks to recognize the excellent efforts of DCCs across the country for their outstanding performance in areas of coordination of sector business at district level, public engagement and accountability.

Award recipient: District Chain-link Committee (DCC)


10. Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes outstanding individuals who have diligently and faithfully served within the Justice, Law and Order Sector or in the legal fraternity (both in the civil and private practice) for a considerable period of time – within which they have greatly contributed to the achievement of Sector goals and objectives. 

Award recipient: Individual


For more information on the JLOS Recognition awards or inquiries, email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call +256 772 741057