October 03, 2023

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

Justice Abodo Wins ABETO Peace Award

Justice Jane Frances Abodo (PHOTO: ODPP) Justice Jane Frances Abodo (PHOTO: ODPP)




Today, the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Justice Jane Frances Abodo has been presented the ABETO Africa Peace Award. This was in recognition of her remarkable achievements as DPP in the three years that she has been at the helm of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP).

In his remarks, Mr. Musana Moses, the Chairperson of ABETO (Always Be Tolerant Organization); an organization whose aim is to inculcate the values of peaceful co-existence, resolution of conflict through peaceful means and get the people of Uganda, Africa and the world to embrace a culture of peace, democracy and good governance, stated that through the DPP’s good leadership, the ODPP has done so much amidst so many security challenges.

The Minister of Gender, Labour and Social Development, Hon. Betty Amongi; the Chief Guest at the occasion, revealed that the awardees of the ABETO Africa Peace Award had been meticulously assessed and their work ascertained to be fair, consistent and to have greatly contributed to the co-existence of all persons in the country.

In her remarks, the DPP expressed her gratitude to ABETO for presenting the award to her and reckoned that it shows that the work of the ODPP is being recognized and appreciated by its esteemed stakeholders. She stated that upon her assumption to office as DPP, she focused on a number of critical areas including High Level Crime, Reducing Case Backlog, Improving Staffing and Staff Welfare, Development of Guidelines for the Prosecutors, and Establishing a Prosecutors Academy. The DPP then highlighted that the conviction rate of the ODPP had risen to over 71% in the past three years. She noted that the ODPP has promoted expeditious handling of cases through the plea bargain initiative leading to remarkable reduction in case backlog thus contributing greatly to the high conviction rate.

The ABETO Africa Peace Award is given in recognition of Heads of State and government dignitaries who have championed the cause of transforming the state and quality of living in their countries.

Further, she noted that the office successfully pursued salary enhancement for the Prosecutors in the year 2022 and a tax waiver which commences this financial year. In addition, she stated that, “Early this year, the ODPP Virtual Academy; an online platform for delivering training and legal resources to Prosecutors remotely, the first of the kind in East Africa, was birthed.”

She categorically expressed her appreciation to H.E the President of the Republic of Uganda, Gen. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, the government, development partners and other stakeholders for supporting the ODPP in realizing its mandate. By extension, she also applauded the ODPP Top Management and staff for their tireless efforts in realizing the institution’s vision of a crime free society.

The Keynote Speaker, Dr. Livingstone Ssewanyana, UN Independent Expert underscored that the award was geared towards recognizing the roles of the awardees and identifying the people who make a difference in other people’s lives. He acknowledged the DPP’s efforts in reducing criminal case backlog. Within the region, ABETO Peace Awards have been graciously received by H.E President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni (Uganda), President Nelson Mandela (Former President of South Africa), President Salva Kiir (South Sudan), Amb. Ramtane Lamamra (African Union Peace and Security Commissioner), Eng. Mahboub M. Maalim (Executive Secretary of IGAD), as well as a number of other dignitaries.


Jacquelyn Okui

Public Relations Officer


For any inquiries, please contact: Tel: +256 786927311

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


Tel: +256701085346

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Rate this item
(0 votes)
Last modified on Saturday, 22 July 2023 16:48